Be in the Flow – Follow Your Path!


Do you want to lose weight and NOT count calories?

Over the Holidays I connected with someone who had recently lost some weight. Feeling the need myself to curb my consistent upward trend on the scale over the last few years, I need to try to stop and reverse my own weight gain. I asked some questions and later did some research on Google. When I was done I settled on learning to follow the advice from the book “The 4-hour Body” by Timothy Ferriss.

Fortunately you don’t have to read the entire tome (well over 500 pages).  Mr. Ferriss describes several pathways through the book, about a 100 pages each, depending on your goal, whether it be weight loss, or muscle or strength gain. I chose the path for weight loss and it does not include counting calories.

What I find intriguing about Mr. Ferriss’ book are all the little tips sprinkled throughout. He not only has researched the topics extremely well, he also experiments on himself extensively. With the information from MANY experts, his own experiments, and a cadre of volunteers testing his conclusions, I choose to experiment to see if his advice will work for me as well.

Here are some examples of his tidbits I found interesting:

  • 80 seconds of exercise before eating and 1 ½ hours after eating is all that is needed to gain muscle instead of fat from a meal. Mr. Ferriss has researched the Minimum Effective Dose (MED) for doing anything helping with weight loss.
  • Fermented foods like sauerkraut or kimchee provide healthy bacteria as well as increased libido. Mr. Ferriss eats 5 forkfuls daily before breakfast.
  • Cinnamon decreases blood glucose levels as well as LDL cholesterol and triglycerides. It slows down the rate at which food empties from the stomach and can therefore make you feel full faster. But be careful, cinnamon is also a blood thinner and intake should be limited to 1 ½ teaspoons or less per day.
  • Fat is not just under your skin, it also forms around your organs.

Call to Action:

Whether you weigh more than what is a healthy weight for you, or you want to build a body that is a pleasure to look at, Mr. Ferriss has a roadmap to getting there. I highly recommend his book. But even if you decide to follow another method to reach a healthy weight, find something you can do. As Mr. Ferriss states, “a mediocre method you stick with is better than a great method you give up on”. Give yourself a reasonable goal and stick to it. I intend to give this method a try for a month and then review my progress and my ability to stick with it.

Taking it Farther:

More information is available at www.fourhourbody.com.

Contact me:

Do you have trouble following a diet and sticking with it? Are the goals reasonable and you still can’t do it? Have you checked with a doctor to see if there are medical reasons for an unhealthy weight? May be life coaching can help you let go of self-sabotaging behaviors and help you achieve your goals. Call Edith at 847.913.3900

Leave a Reply

