Be in the Flow – Follow Your Path!


Does Just Looking at Food Make You Gain Weight?

When you look at foods or smell them, do you feel like that’s enough to cause you to gain weight? You may be right! You may have an anxiety response, which causes bloating in you.

First of all – bloating is associated with a variety of causes, some of which require medical care. Please seek appropriate medical care for your condition as needed. http://www.beatbloating.com/ might be one of many sites that can help you get a better understanding of some of the causes of bloating.

What I am offering here is a different point of view than what you might have considered. I hope it helps.

Creating Awareness and Why This Matters:

When do you feel bloated?
Keep a record of the moment when you become aware of the feeling of bloating. What was happening in your life just before that? What were you thinking about? Where were you? What did you see, hear or smell? What and how much did you eat, or drink, or inhale? If you over-ate, what were you thinking? Did you go unconscious and just munch away until the bag, box, or plate was empty? Do you have “clean your plate” syndrome? In order to cure anxiety related bloating, you first have to pinpoint what is causing the anxiety. Heal the source of the anxiety and the symptom goes away.

Story: Bloating as an Anxiety Response

My mother has severe anxiety when she has to write something or receives mail that she has to respond to. Needless to say, her grandchildren haven’t received a birthday or Christmas greeting card in many years. It may have something to do with her unresolved past. She told me this story: When she was young she remembers a terrifying writing incident. Her mother (my Oma) wanted her to do well in school. One time my mother had a really hard time with a writing assignment. Oma got so frustrated at her daughter’s lack of getting the writing assignment done, that she stood behind her with a carpet beater, threatening to beat her severely if she wasn’t writing. Writing under that kind of threat of physical harm did not help my mother think or create a well-written composition.

When my mother was an adult and had a young child (me) she went through a bitter divorce. Years later she told me that at one point my Dad, who was a sharp shooter and had a rifle collection, threatened to kill both of them and make me an orphan, unless she agreed to everything he wanted in the divorce. Responding to attorney correspondence during that divorce must have felt like writing with a gun to her head. Do you suppose I picked up any unconscious association between writing and severe anxiety, or for that matter, between divorce and life threatening danger?

Writing was something that I have felt uncomfortable and awkward and even terrified about most of my life. The first time I contributed to a book a few years ago, it was an arduous experience. The various parts of the process: writing, editing, approving the final version, promoting the book, seeing it in print and in book stores, all caused various symptoms, some as severe as debilitating back pain, shortness of breath, and chest pain caused by a diaphragm spasm which lasted several days.

I have come a long ways since my last book project. In the last six months I have been writing an article each week. A couple of weeks ago I started seriously thinking about organizing these articles into chapters for a future book project. Almost the moment I thought of going through another book project my stomach became distended. I watched my stomach swell up as it become bloated right before my eyes. The pants that fit comfortably a minute earlier were uncomfortably cutting into my waist. — At first I didn’t put it together: the thought about creating another book and the bloating. With a little introspection and the many tools I use to help my coaching clients, I became aware of the connection. When I was getting ready to write my next article a week later, nothing came together. I started the article but seemed to have irresolvable writer’s block. Using more tools, I am now, 2 weeks later, able to write again — and write with minimal bloating. In two weeks of daily discomfort and working through my writing related issues, I was able to nearly resolve the next layer of writing related anxiety, dissolving another piece of a lifetime of writing anxiety.

Taking it Further:

If you experience bloating that seems to come “out of nowhere”, consider if it may be an anxiety response to something that’s going on in your life or your mind. If you swell up just thinking about food, there may be underlying anxieties that can be healed. If you need help solving the mystery and dissolving the discomfort, consider getting the support of a coach who has the detective skills and the tools, so you can be free from the discomfort.

Contact me:

If you would like to improve the quality of your life, figure out what you truly want in life, and help you let go of some stress and anxiety, call me. For many people coaching can make the difference between what you have now and the life you could have. Live the life you choose. Achieve your goals. Be happy. Lead a balanced life. Call Edith at 847.913.3900.

Comments on: "Does Just Looking at Food Make You Gain Weight? About Bloating and Anxiety" (2)

  1. I have read so many articles or reviews about the blogger lovers
    however this piece of writing is really a pleasant
    post, keep it up.

    Like

  2. I used to be recommended this blog by way of my cousin.
    I’m not certain whether or not this post is written by way of him as no one else recognize such particular approximately my trouble. You are incredible! Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

